LECOM Health Challenge Announces 2018 Tournament Exemptions

Brandon Wu, Drew Deimel, Mike Van Sickle, Chris Wilson to play in Korn Ferry Tour’s 2018 LECOM Health Challenge


CLYMER, N.Y. (June 18, 2018) – The Korn Ferry Tour’s LECOM Heath Challenge, taking place July 5–8, 2018 at Peek’n Peak Resort’s Upper Course, announced player exemptions for this year’s tournament. These include Brandon Wu, Drew Deimal, Mike Van Sickle, and Chris Wilson.

“The players receiving exemptions for this year’s LECOM Health Challenge represent the incredible talent, experience, and diversity that make this tournament so competitive and fun to watch,” said Mark Geise, CEO of the Chautauqua Region Economic Development Corporation (CREDC). “We look forward to seeing Brandon, Drew, Mike, and Chris at Peek’n Peak in July.”

The LECOM Health Challenge can select up to four players to receive exemptions, giving them automatic entry into the tournament. Two exemptions are classified as restricted and must be allocated to individuals who currently hold Korn Ferry Tour status, while the remaining two exemptions are unrestricted and can be given to anyone.

Brandon Wu, a rising senior at Stanford University, received an unrestricted exemption for the 2018 LECOM Health Challenge after shooting a final round of 64 to win the 2017 Porter Cup at Niagara Falls Country Club. In 2016, he tied for 16th at the NCGA Amateur Match Play Championship.

Drew Deimel, an Erie, Pennsylvania native, will play the tournament with an unrestricted exemption. Deimel turned professional in 2012 after playing for Gannon University, where he was a two-time Erie District Golf Association Champion and earned the title of 2010-11 Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Athlete of the Year.

Mike Van Sickle is receiving one of the tournament’s restricted exemptions. A graduate of Marquette University, he was the first amateur player since 1955 to win the Pennsylvania Open Championship back-to-back. Van Sickle played the Korn Ferry Tour Qualifying Tournament in 2014.

Chris Wilson, a Dublin, Ohio native and alumnus of Northwestern University, will play the LECOM Health Challenge as a restricted exemption. Wilson played his first Korn Ferry Tour in 2012. Last year, he had two T17 finishes at the Rex Hospital Open and Rust-Oleum Championship.

Exempt players will join a field of competitors from the Korn Ferry Tour and the top 12 finishers of the July 2 local qualifying round at Shorewood Country Club in Dunkirk.



The LECOM Health Challenge is a Korn Ferry Tour event hosted at Peek’n Peak’s “Upper Course” on July 2–8, 2018. A week-long schedule of events will include a Pro-Am on July 3, followed by four official rounds of tournament competition from July 5–8, with a tournament purse of $600,000. With LECOM Health (Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine) serving as title sponsor and the Chautauqua Region Economic Development Corporation (CREDC) acting as the host organization, proceeds from the tournament will benefit the LECOM Student Scholarship Fund, as well as Mikey’s Way Foundation and the Jamestown Community College Foundation. For more information, visit www.lecomhealthchallenge.com.



Founded (1990), owned and operated by the PGA TOUR, the Web.com Tour continues to identify those players who are ready to compete and win on golf’s biggest stage. Web.com became the Tour’s umbrella sponsor on June 27, 2012, with a 10-year agreement in place through 2021. In 2013, the Web.com Tour became The Path to the PGA TOUR with all 50 available PGA TOUR cards coming through the Web.com Tour and the season culminating at the four-event Web.com Tour Finals. This season marks the 29th year of competition on the Web.com Tour. Three out of four PGA TOUR members are Web.com Tour alumni. Tour alumni have won more than 500 PGA TOUR titles, including 23 major championships and eight PLAYERS Championships. To learn more about the PGA TOUR, the Web.com Tour and to follow the season-long quest for a PGA TOUR card, visit PGATOUR.COM, or follow the Tour on social media via Twitter (@WebDotComTour), Facebook (facebook.com/WebDotComTour) and Instagram (Instagram.com/WebDotComTour).